Editorial Board


Dr Emily Sena (University of Edinburgh)
Competing interests

Dr Emily Sena is a researcher specialising in the validity of preclinical studies and based at the Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences, University of Edinburgh. She completed her PhD at the University of Edinburgh that also included a one year exchange at the Department of Medicine, University of Melbourne.

Her research interests are in the use of systematic review and meta-analysis of preclinical studies to increase the understanding of critical facets of translational medicine and developing new hypotheses for testing in the laboratory. She also has an interest in assessing for the presence and impact of publication bias in the life sciences.

Associate Editors

Sylvain Baillet
McGill University, Canada
Area of Expertise: Brain imaging, open science
Competing interests

Ana Antonic-Baker  
Monash University, Australia
Area of Expertise: in vitro disease modeling, epilepsy, stroke, systematic reviews of pre-clinical research
 Competing interests

Chris Chambers  
Cardiff University, UK
Area of Expertise: Registered reports
Competing interests

Steven Chamuleau
UMC Utrecht, Netherlands
Area of Expertise: Circulatory health, regenerative medicine
Competing interests

Laura Corbin 
University of Bristol, UK
Area of Expertise: Genetics, genomics
Competing interests

Adam Ferguson  
University of California
San Francisco, USA
Area of Expertise: SCI, bioinformatics
Competing interests

Chang-Qing Gao
Central South University, China
Area of Expertise: Cancer biology, clinical trials
Competing interests

Hendrik Gremmels 
University Medical Centre Utrecht, Netherlands
Area of Expertise: Methodologist (regenerative medicine, techniques in molecular biology, pharmacology, biostatistics)
Competing interests

Kaitlyn Hair  – Social Media & Blog Editor
University of Edinburgh, UK
If you are interested in contributing to our blog please contact me: 
Area of Expertise: Systematic reviews, reporting quality
Competing interests

Christoph Harms
Charité – Berlin University of Medicine, Germany
Area of Expertise: Molecular stroke research, brain imaging, animal behaviour, registered reports, open science
Competing interests

Wenlong Huang
University of Aberdeen, UK
Area of Expertise: Pain, SCI, HIV
Competing interests

Birgitte Kousholt
Aarhus University, Denmark

Cilene Lino de Oliveira   
Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Area of Expertise: Behavior, neurobiology, psychopharmacology, animal models, antidepressants.
Competing interests 

Nathalie Percie du Sert
Area of Expertise: Experimental design/3Rs
Competing interests

Thomas Steckler
Janssen Pharmaceutica, Belgium
Area of Expertise: Drug development
Competing interests

Daniel Strech
Hannover Medical School, Germany
Area of Expertise: Ethics/utility of preclinical for early phase trials
Competing interests

Brad Sutherland 
University of Tasmania, Australia
Area of Expertise: Stroke, behavioural testing
Competing interests

Kim Wever
Radboud University Medical Centre, Netherlands
Area of Expertise: SR of preclinical, ischaemic injury
Competing interests

Badge Editor

Nadia Soliman
Imperial College London, UK
Competing interests

Advisory Board

Ulrich Dirnagl
Berlin, Germany

Natasha Karp 
Cambridge, UK

Frank Miedema
UMC Utrecht
Utrecht, The Netherlands

John Norrie
University of Edinburgh
Edinburgh, UK